Joy Smiley Zabala, Ed.D.

Your Subtitle text
Quality Indicators for Assistive Technology Services (QIAT): 

QIAT is a set of quality indicators, intent statements, and common errors for eight areas important to the development and delivery of assistive technology services.  Each of the eight areas - Consideration, Assessment, AT in the IEP, Implementation, Evaluation of Effectiveness, Transition, Administrative Support and Professional Development - should be fully explored because the areas are complementary in nature. Learn more about QIAT at  Join in QIAT Conversations on the QIAT List.

Universal Design for Learning: (UDL)

UDL is a set of principles for designing curriculum - goals, assessment, methods, and materials - in ways that provides every student with the challenges and supports they need for educational participation and achievement. Grounded in research of learner differences and effective instructional settings, UDL principles provide for varied and flexible means of engagement of students, representation of content, and response to learning.  Learn more about how curriculum planning and implementation aligned to the principles of UDL can positively impact the learning of every student at the National UDL Center and CAST

Accessible Instructional Materials (AIM): 

Provisions within the Individuals with Disabilities Education Improvement Act (IDEA) require State and Local Education Agencies to ensure that specialized formats - braille, large print, audio, and digital - of textbooks and related instructional materials are provided in a timely manner to student with disabilities who need them. Visit the National Center on Accessible Instructional Materials (AIM Center) to build background information about AIM, experience interactive tools, supports, and learning opportunities , and collaborate with others around issues related to the provision of AIM across the country.

Website Builder